Ink BottleThere comes a time in the life of every writer when no amount of artistic deflection can replace the primal need to position his backside in the chair and his fingers on the keyboard.  Despite family travails, job woes, medical crises, or unforeseen circumstances, the production of words becomes paramount.  For this, without fail, is the meaning of the word writer.  A writer . . . writes.

I have ducked this responsibility for far too long.  I can write, sure, but I am a poor writer . . . meaning I sometimes lack the discipline required of the profession.  I have skated by mostly on luck.  I had a few early successes, followed by some bad times that required me to step away from the keyboard.  My agent and my editor, being the sympathetic sorts, understood and gave me time and space.  I wrote a book in the interim, A Gathering of Ravens.  Which is good.  Now, though, it’s time to “nut up or shut up.”

Starting now, I am on a serious timetable.  My goal is to write two complete books in the next 365 days.  The first is tentatively called “Twilight of the Gods”; it’s not a sequel to Ravens, per se, but rather a continuation of the main character’s life.  An unrelated episode.  And the second (subject to change) is called “The Colchian Witch”, a historical fantasy retelling of the myth of Medea.  I plan to make this happen by writing 1000 words a day from a detailed outline.  Each will be in the vicinity of 120,000 words, so I’m giving myself 120 days to finish the draft of each.  That leaves 125 days to plot, recharge, edit, and promote.

The balance of the month of July, 2016, will be spent finishing the edits on A Gathering of Ravens.  August will be spent drafting the outline for “Twilight of the Gods”, with writing commencing on 1 September 2016.  120 days later, at the end of December, I’ll turn the manuscript over to my agent.  January 2017 will then be spent drafting the outline to “The Colchian Witch”, with the writing set to commence in February, and so forth.  When not writing, I’ll be spending time promoting A Gathering of Ravens, which is set to debut in May of 2017.  If all goes according to plan, I’ll have books out in ’17, ’18, and ’19.  If not . . . well, I’ll still have books.

That’s the plan.  Carpe Librum!

One thought on “A Time for All Things

  1. Looking forward to A Gathering of Ravens! And thank you for the post. As an aspiring writing it’s good to hear the advice, “Sit down and write,” and it was also very helpful to see what your plan looks like.

    As they say, break a leg!

    P.S. Let us know when we can pre-order Gathering 🙂

Leave a Reply

