Giving Thanks

This has been a rough year, no doubt.  With the loss of both my parents and three of my aunts weighing heavily on my mind, I find myself casting desperately about for something which I can be thankful.  So, here goes:

I am thankful for my wife, Shannon.  Without her, I fear the reaper’s tally would have been one higher this year.  She keeps me sane.

I am thankful for my friends, both online and in life.  They’re an understanding bunch and never fail to cheer me up when I need it.  I hope someday I can repay their myriad kindnesses.

I am thankful that I have books to be written and an agent and publishers who are patient.  I’ve not yet found my voice after all this, despite my best efforts, but I know to trust the Muses in their wisdom.  The words will come.  Hopefully soon.

And I am thankful for the family that remains to me.  My wish is that we can get through this and come out stronger on the other side.

Have a good Thanksgiving, dear friends . . .

4 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Scott, one of the most useful posts I have ever come across on the Web was one of your first. It was the one wherein you described trying your hand at a ‘Conan’ novel, and it never fired on all cylinders. Then you went on to describe falling into historical fiction, and that seemed to shift the gears smoothly.

    As good a writer as anyone might be, knowing what they can’t write & what they can is an important realization. Or, at least, maybe some writers need to stick to their strong suits first before trying to branch out too far at the outset.

    It made me realize that, as much as i love reading sword-&-sorcery, it would be okay if I wrote something else first. I am definitely inspired by you directly in regards to desiring to write some historical fiction. Someday 🙂 I have a character and time period all picked out, actually.

    I think you’ve found your voice – I think you did a while ago. You’re not alone, check out any number of writings from David Drake (newsletters, forwards, etc.) and you’ll see he often – even to this day – frets over a book when he is in the middle of it – wondering if it will be of interest to anyone.

    So, thanks for all that. You’ve had a rough year, it’s no surprise you have some writer’s confidence crisis. I am certain it will pass.

    Best to you & yours.

    Paul

  2. Scott, while we’ve never met, I’m thankful for you and your blog. Even though you had to put it on hold to deal with far more important issues, I learned a great deal when you were sharing your writing process with us in the story about Richelieu. You will get through the grief and you will heal. And you will be stronger for it, I have no doubt. Hang in there, my friend. Your readers will be here when you find your voice again. And if you need anything, you can call on us.

  3. You’ll make it through. Even if it doesn’t feel like it. It’s not those who are able to persevere when it’s easy that make our true heroes, it’s those who press on when it’s unbearable–when we don’t feel like we’re wearing the right skin–that show us the true strengths inherent within ourselves. The light at the end of the tunnel is there. I think you know you’ll come out of this stronger in the end. I look forward to your next posts.

    As always, your friend.

    -R

Leave a Reply

